About Me

Keeping Your Restaurant On Its Toes

When you run a business like a restaurant, it can be easy to get complacent about the details. Your employees might be used to you checking in on them during certain times of the week, or you might get comfortable with your same old menu. Unfortunately, if your place stays exactly the same, customers can lose interest—which can be bad for business. I want you to know what you need to do to make your restaurant beautiful, functional, and relevant, which is why I made this site. Here, you will learn key strategies for perfecting your business, so that you don't end up with a mess on your hands.

Latest Posts


Keeping Your Restaurant On Its Toes

Eating Vegan At An Italian Restaurant: Tips For You

by Julio Myers

When you decide to take the step to change your lifestyle and become a vegan, you know that dining out will be a bigger challenge than it was before you made the change. However, being vegan does not have to mean that you can never enjoy a nice meal out with friends or family. If you are invited to a dinner at an Italian restaurant, you may be hesitant about accepting out of fear that you will not be able to find any vegan options. Before you decline the offer and isolate yourself from outings with your friends and family, get to know how you can eat vegan at an Italian restaurant and have an enjoyable meal in the process.

Don't Assume You Will Need To Stick To Salad

As a safeguard, many vegans default to eating plain salad when they dine out at any restaurant. However, eating a salad while everyone else is indulging in heaping piles of pasta does not always make for an enjoyable experience for you or for the people you are with who feel guilty watching you eat your salad.

Do not automatically assume that all you can eat is salad when you go to an Italian restaurant. There are a wide variety of dishes served at such restaurants including soups, appetizers, and even pasta dishes that may be vegan or can be altered to become vegan friendly.

Ask What Ingredients Are In The Pasta

Many vegans worry about the ingredients used in pasta noodles when they go out to eat and opt not to eat them out of fear that eggs are included in the ingredients. However, there are often many pasta options available that do not contain eggs.

If you do not want to make your companions uncomfortable by asking the wait staff to check on the ingredients in the pasta noodles, you can call ahead and ask the kitchen staff to be sure. Look specifically for any whole wheat pasta noodle options. These types of noodles are generally made to be as healthy as possible and eggs will be omitted in an attempt to cut calories. Gluten free options are also sometimes egg free as they are designed to eliminate allergens and accommodate people with specific dietary restrictions.

When you find out which pasta noodles do not contain eggs, you will open up a much larger array of options to yourself at the restaurant. You can then indulge in a heaping dish of pasta along with your companions.

Know Your Sauces

As a vegan, you need to be especially aware of the ingredients that go into the sauces that dress any pasta dishes. Marinara sauce is almost always a safe option for vegetarians and vegans as it is made up of tomatoes, spices, garlic, onions, and olive oil.

On the other hand, not all red sauces are marinara sauce and you need to be careful when ordering other sauce types. Puttanesca sauce, for example, is a red sauce but contains anchovies. Pomodoro sauce is primarily tomato based as well and looks to be made up of fresh tomatoes, basil, and garlic but may also contain chicken broth. Be sure to ask questions if you want to try a new sauce or simply stick to marinara if you want to play it safe.

Now that you know a few of the ways that you can eat vegan at an Italian restaurant, you know that you have options available to you and can enjoy a delicious meal with your friends and family.

For a local Italian restaurant, contact an eatery such as Pizzeria Roma.